​Lucy Dacus Announces Sophomore LP 'Historian'

She's also shared lead single "Night Shift" and mapped out a round of North American tour dates
​Lucy Dacus Announces Sophomore LP 'Historian'
Lucy Dacus impressed with her 2016 debut No Burden, and now the Richmond, VA-born indie rocker has revealed plans for the follow-up. Historian is set for release on March 2 through Matador Records.
According to a press release, the 10-track album hears Dacus grappling with life's big questions — both the "life-or-death reckonings" and "the ones that just feel that way."
It was recorded in Nashville last March with No Burden producer Collin Pastor, then mixed by John Congleton. See the full tracklisting down below.
Touring the last record made Dacus realize her growing audience and platform to make music with a powerful message, and as such, Historian hears her addressing everything from political and personal heartbreak to racism to creative burnout.
"It starts out dark and ends hopeful, but it gets darker in between; it goes to the deepest, darkest, place and then breaks," she said in a statement. "What I'm
trying to say throughout the album is that hope survives, even in the face of the worst stuff."
Hopeful fans get their first preview of the new material with lead single "Night Shift," which stands as the first and only breakup song Dacus has ever written. Listen to the scathing ode to a former lover below.
She's also announced a round of North American tour dates in support of the album, including Canadian stops in Vancouver on March 27 and Toronto on April 9. See the full list here.
1. Night Shift 
2. Addictions 
3. The Shell 
4. Nonbeliever 
5. Yours & Mine 
6. Body To Flame
7. Timefighter 
8. Next Of Kin 
9. Pillar Of Truth 
10. Historians