The Little Ones Announce Sophomore Album

The Little Ones Announce Sophomore Album
The last time the Little Ones released an album, the California pop band were dropped from Astralwerks and 2008's Morning Tide was temporarily delayed. For their sophomore album, the band opted to go the DIY route by self-financing the sessions. The new disc is called The Dawn Sang Along, and it will be out on February 12 through Branches Recording Collective.

It was recorded with Dave Newton, formerly of '80s new wave act Mighty Lemon Drops. A press release notes that this is a fun, sunshine-soaked collection that channels '60s pop with an international flavour. The band draw influence from West Africa, the Caribbean and Brazil, in addition to fellow Californians the Beach Boys.

The album promises to have moments of subtlety, but the primary focus is on the band's energetic pop tunes. Guitarist Ian Moreno said in a statement, "This record has nuance and headphone moments. Compared to past recordings, there are more hills and valleys to it, but in the end it's really just us trying to improve on the fun parts."

The first single is the opening track "Argonauts." Scroll past the tracklist to hear that ebullient, steel drums-tinged number.

The Dawn Sang Along:

1. Argonauts
2. Boy on Wheels
3. Little Souls
4. Forro  
5. Catch the Movement  
6. Shake Your Sign
7. AWOL  
8. Art in the Streets  
9. Super Bros.  
10. Body
11. Ain't It Like You & Me