Lily Frost Returns with 'Do What You Love,' Gets Brendan Canning, Todor Kobakov to Guest

Lily Frost Returns with 'Do What You Love,' Gets Brendan Canning, Todor Kobakov to Guest
As Exclaim! wrote in our review, eclectic, BC-bred singer-songwriter Lily Frost brought listeners on an "eerie adventure through the woods" with her last folky set, 2010's Viridian Touch, but her next LP, Do What You Love, is poised to deliver a handful of positive life lessons.

A press release for the album, which arrives October 2 through Aporia Records, explains that Frost's latest was mostly written in a cabin in Georgian Bay, ON, and was "conceived, written and recorded as a letter to the daughter she was about to have." It allegedly offers insight from Frost's experience in the recording industry, among other topics.

"I wanted to make a fun, upbeat record for my daughter that included lessons I had learned the hard way," Front said in a statement. "I wanted to leave people feeling inspired with smiles on their faces."

The 10-song set was produced by Me&John (Ryan Kondrat and John LaMagna), and is said to navigate between playful, hummable pop, '60s girl-group melodies, country swing and "trip-pop." The record also closes with a cover of Pink Floyd's "San Tropez."

You can catch a sneak peek of Do What You Love via the twinkly piano melodies and breathy "ba-ba-ba" vocal harmonies of "Background Radio" in the stream down below.

On top of Frost's performance, guests appearing on Do What You Love include Jose Contreras (By Divine Right), Bryden Baird (Zeus, Feist), and Broken Social Scene's Brendan Canning. Album track "Stand" also received a string arrangement courtesy of Todor Kobakov (Small Sins, Emily Haines).

As an added bonus, the version of the album in Quebec will come with an extra disc featuring songs by Frost sung in French. Plus, Frost has a few Ontario shows on the horizon, and you can see those below.

Do What You Love:

1. Background Radio

2. I'm On Fire 

3. Do What You Love
4. Grenade 

5. Poetry

6. No Promises

7. Long Sweet Ride
8. It Shines
9. Stand
10. San Tropez

Tour dates:

8/26 Toronto, ON - The Old Nick
9/14 Orangeville, ON - Aardvark Music
9/15 Toronto, ON - The Rivoli (album release show) *

* with Lou Canon