The Shaggs' 'Philosophy of the World' Treated to Deluxe Reissue

The Shaggs' 'Philosophy of the World' Treated to Deluxe Reissue
Light in the Attic's affinity for cult classics has led it to announcing a reissue of '60s-era sister group the Shaggs' sole LP, Philosophy of the World. A remastered, deluxe package of the entirely unique, ragged and mind-blowing garage rock record arrives on September 9.

Originally delivered back in 1968, the 12-song release was put together by Dot, Betty and Helen Wiggin, three teen sisters from Fremont, NH, whose father thought they were going to be huge. A press release notes that their dad, Austin Wiggin Jr., received a palm reading from his mother years earlier that predicted as much. To get ready for fame, he home schooled his daughters, while also employing "a strict regiment of instrumental and vocal practice, along with jumping jacks and sit-ups."

Described as a "collection of garage rock tunes that balanced charm and discordance in equal measure," the record paired Dot's "simple truths" with melodic, though off-kilter and possibly out-of-sync arrangements. Philosophy of the World was pressed in a run of 1,000 copies, but 900 of those had apparently "vanished upon completion." Existing copies have sold for up to $10,000 USD.

Now coming as a gatefold LP, the album has been remastered for the reissue and includes a booklet featuring rare photos of the group, as well as liner notes from Lenny Kaye. There's also a limited-edition vinyl version on "Shag Carpet"-coloured wax, as well as CD and digital editions. You can find out more info over here.

To celebrate the reissue, a Shaggs tribute night is being held at New York's Poisson Rouge venue on September 9. Members of the B-52's, the Monks, Bush Tetras, Dresden Dolls and more will perform throughout the night.

Philosophy of the World:

1. Philosophy of the World
2. That Little Sports Car
3. Who Are Parents?
4. My Pal Foot Foot
5. My Companion
6. I'm So Happy When You're Near
7. Things I Wonder
8. Sweet Thing
9. It's Halloween
10. Why Do I Feel?
11. What Should I Do?
12. We Have a Savior