Liam Finn's BARB to Release Self-Titled Debut Via Yep Rock

Liam Finn's BARB to Release Self-Titled Debut Via Yep Rock
If everything you know about New Zealand pop comes from a certain acoustic comedy duo, get ready to have your world rocked. BARB is a New Zealand-based collective made up of Liam Finn, Lawrence Arabia, Eliza-Jane Barnes, Connan Mockasin and Seamus Ebbs. The group are now getting set to release their self-titled album, which will be out in North America on Tuesday (August 24) via Yep Rock.

All five musicians are well-established in their own right, and are previous friends and collaborators. They wrote and recorded the album during a four-week session at Roundhead Studios in Newton, Auckland. According to a press release, the 12-song collection "is what happens when five passionately creative friends lock themselves in a world-class studio for a month with no plans and plenty of wine."

BARB is "an organic, yet sexy world, where you can't tell if you've gone 40 years back in time, or 40 years into the future." The 12 songs cover topics such as "lesbian lovers, boat trips up the Nile, and even a four-year-old's obsession with teen heartthrob Leonardo DiCaprio."

Given the five musicians' busy schedules, BARB currently have no touring plans, and it remains to be seen whether this is a one-time project or a long-term band. You can listen to whole album over at Yep Rock's website. You can see the album cover above and check out the tracklist below. If you pre-order the CD now, you'll receive a bonus track called "Havin' a Baby."

Watch the video for the Leonardo DiCaprio homage, "Leo," at the bottom of the page.


1. "Leo"
2. "Alcoholic Darling"
3. "Not a Bird"
4. "Please Don't Interrupt"
5. "Martin XII"
6. "Time to Contemplate"
7. "Beatman"
8. "Counting Sheep"
9. "2004"
10. "Characterful"
  11. "Nile"
12. "Looking Out Through Barb's Eyes"