Kurt Cobain's Solo Collection Gets Sprawling Tracklist

Kurt Cobain's Solo Collection Gets Sprawling Tracklist
Over the months, various tidbits of information have been emerging about Kurt Cobain's posthumous solo collection, Montage of Heck: The Home Recordings. Now the album, which serves as the companion to the recent documentary, has finally got an official tracklist.

It consists of a whopping 31 tracks. These include early demos of a few Nirvana songs ("Been a Son," "Sappy," "Something in the Way," "Frances Farmer Will Have Her Revenge on Seattle"), the With the Lights Out standout "Do Re Mi," some spoken word pieces, and a few oddball experiments with titles like "Montage of Kurt," "Reverb Experiment" and "Kurt Ambience." They're presented in roughly chronological order (although Cobain never dated his tapes), and they come from the musician's personal trove of solo tapes.

The tracklist is below. Scroll down to hear the recently released demo version of "Sappy."

Speaking to Rolling Stone, Montage of Heck director Brett Morgen said of the collection: "The morality of putting out unfinished work — I know that is a criticism that will be lobbied against the project. But just like The Bootleg Series furthers your understanding of Bob Dylan's process, I find that Montage of Heck: The Home Recordings furthers not just our understanding of his process but represents yet another angle, another side of Kurt — an artistic outlet that he was not necessarily able to work with in the context of a three-piece band. It's not scraps and discarded, insignificant material. It really is furthering our understanding of one of the most significant artists of our time."

The album will be out on CD, cassette and digital download on November 20, with the double LP to follow on December 4. Other editions include a pared-down 13-song version of the album, and a package called Kurt Cobain: Montage of Heck Super Deluxe Edition containing the documentary on DVD and Blu-ray, the album on CD and cassette, and a book. A 7-inch from Cobain featuring "Sappy" and a cover of the Beatles' "And I Love Her" will also arrive on November 20.

Montage of Heck: The Home Recordings:

1. The Yodel Song
2. Been a Son (Early Demo)    
3. What More Can I Say    
4. 1988 Capitol Lake Jam Commercial        
5. The Happy Guitar            
6. Montage of Kurt            
7. Beans  
8. Burn the Rain  
9. Clean Up Before She Comes (Early Demo)          
10. Reverb Experiment        
11. Montage of Kurt II          
12. Rehash
13. You Can't Change Me/Burn My Britches/Something in the Way (Early Demo)
14. Scoff (Early Demo)        
15. Aberdeen          
16. Bright Smile      
17. Underground Celebritism          
18. Retreat
19. Desire  
20. And I Love Her
21. Sea Monkeys    
22. Sappy (Early Demo)      
23. Letters to Frances          
24. Scream
25. Frances Farmer Will Have Her Revenge on Seattle (Demo)    
26. Kurt Ambiance
27. She Only Lies    
28. Kurt Audio Collage    
29. Poison's Gone  
30. Rhesus Monkey      
31. Do Re Mi (Medley)