Kool Keith Gets MF DOOM, Slug for 'Feature Magnetic'

Kool Keith Gets MF DOOM, Slug for 'Feature Magnetic'
Eclectic hip-hop expressionist Kool Keith recently told Exclaim! of a features-loaded full-length heading our way sometime soon, among a number of other upcoming projects. Now, his Feature Magnetic has been given a September 16 street date via Mello Music Group, and it includes a previously promised collab with MF DOOM.

A press release explains that the 14-song release features "spare, innovative beats, simple hooks, and razor-sharp verses from an unlikely collection of geniuses." With respect to the Metal Face Villain, it's explained that Keith and MF DOOM connected in the latter's London basement to conceive "Super Hero." Also appearing throughout the collection are Atmosphere rapper Slug ("Peer Pressure"), Beatnuts' Psycho Les ("Bragging Rights"), Sadat X ("Life"), gore rapper Necro ("Girl Grab") and more.

As for the host's own bars, he's said to speak for the "world-weary" on "Tired," contemplate his career and racial demographics on "Peer Pressure," and explain a plan for job creation and economic growth on "Stratocaster."

To tease the collection, Kool Keith has unleashed a stream of Feature Magnetic's "World Wide Lamper," a song that has the rapper joined by B.A.R.S. Murre and Dirt Nasty. You'll find the song below, along with a fully detailed tracklisting for the LP.

Kool Keith had suggested to Exclaim! in the spring that Feature Magnetic is just one part of a planned rollout of material for the prolific rhymer.

"I'm producing a lot of songs lately, making beats," he said. "Hopefully I come out with a solo album after, a Kool Keith solo album. I think I'm going to do a 70-track solo album. I want to make at least 30 songs. I have this thing where I think music should go back to quantity and quality, instead of waiting four years for nine songs. That's now a good ratio."

Feature Magnetic:

1. Intro
2. Stratocaster (ft. Godfather Don)
3. MC Voltron (ft. Craig G)
4. Super Hero (ft. MF DOOM)
5. World Wide Lamper (ft. B.A.R.S. Murre, Dirt Nasty)
6. Bragging Rights (ft. Psycho Les)
7. Girl Grab (ft. Necro)
8. Bonneville (ft. Mac Mall)
9. Tired (ft. Ed O.G.)
10. Cold Freezer (ft. Bumpy Knuckles)
11. Peer Pressure (ft. Slug)
12. Life (ft. Sadat X)
13. Writers (ft. Ras Kass)
14. Cheesecake (Bonus Track)