​Kate Bush Teases 'The Other Sides' Rarities Comp with Reggae Cover of Elton John's "Rocket Man"

​Kate Bush Teases 'The Other Sides' Rarities Comp with Reggae Cover of Elton John's 'Rocket Man'
Kate Bush just reissued her entire back catalogue last fall, and now the enigmatic singer has revealed plans to release a rarities collection dubbed The Other Sides. It's due out March 22 in North America and on March 8 overseas via Rhino Records.
The four-disc compilation features cover songs like renditions of Elton John's "Rocket Man" and "Candle in the Wind," Marvin Gaye's "Sexual Healing," and George and Ira Gershwin's "The Man I Love." It also boasts rarities from films like The Golden Compass and Castaway, as well as new mixes of some of Bush's well-known songs and previously unreleased demo versions of others.
The first audio sample to arrive is her cover of "Rocket Man." Bush released a statement about the song, which reads:
I remember buying this when it came out as a single by Elton John. I couldn't stop playing it — I loved it so much. Most artists in the mid seventies played guitar but Elton played piano and I dreamed of being able to play like him....
I wanted to make it different from the original and thought it could be fun to turn it into a reggae version. It meant a great deal to me that they chose it to be the first single release from the album.
That meant I also had the chance to direct the video which I loved doing — making it a performance video, shot on black and white film, featuring all the musicians and... the Moon!
See the extensive tracklisting for The Other Sides below, as well as the aforementioned video for Bush's take on "Rocket Man."
The Other Sides is available for pre-order here.
The Other Sides:
Disc 1: 12" mixes:
1. Running Up That Hill (A Deal With God)
2. The Big Sky (Metereological Mix)
3. Cloudbusting (The Organon Mix)
4. Hounds Of Love (Alternative Mix)
5. Experiment 1V (Extended Mix)
Disc 2: The Other Side 1:
1. Walk Straight Down The Middle
2. You Want Alchemy
3. Be Kind To My Mistakes
4. Lyra
5. Under The Ivy
6. Experiment 1V
7. Ne t'enfuis pas
8. Un baiser d'enfant
9. Burning Bridge
10. Running Up That Hill (A Deal With God) 2012 Remix
Disc 3: The Other Side 2:
1. Home For Christmas
2. One Last Look Around The House Before We Go…….
3. I'm Still Waiting
4. Warm And Soothing
5. Show A Little Devotion
6. Passing Through The Air
7. Humming
8. Ran Tan Waltz
9. December Will Be Magic
10. Wuthering Heights (Remix)
Disc 4: In Others' Words:
1. Rocket Man
2. Sexual Healing
3. Mna Na Heireann
4. My Lagan Love
5. The Man I Love
6. Brazil (Sam Lowry's First Dream)
7. The Handsome Cabin Boy
8. Lord Of The Reedy River
9. Candle In The Wind