Julianna Barwick Returns with New Album 'Healing Is a Miracle'

It features Jónsi of Sigur Rós, Nosaj Thing and Mary Lattimore

BY Calum SlingerlandPublished May 20, 2020

Julianna Barwick has detailed her first full-length album in four years. Titled Healing Is a Miracle, the effort arrives July 10 through Ninja Tune.

Eight tracks in length, Healing Is a Miracle follows Barwick's 2016 album Will and was recorded after completing a move from New York to Los Angeles. Collaborations with Sigur Rós's Jónsi, Nosaj Thing and Mary Lattimore appear in the tracklist.

Barwick also took her recording process to new levels with the addition of studio monitors, having recorded her past efforts using headphones alone. The new gear had an impact on album opener "Inspirit," which you can hear below.

"The first song I remember making with [monitors] was the first song on the album, Inspirit." Barwick said in a statement, "When I added the bass I really felt it in my body, you know, in a way you just wouldn't with headphones… it was kind of euphoric and fun. I got really excited about making the record in that moment, and I think that really had an impact on the sounds I ended up making."

Healing Is a Miracle:

1. Inspirit
2. Oh, Memory (feat. Mary Lattimore)
3. Healing Is A Miracle
4. In Light (feat. Jónsi)
5. Safe
6. Flowers
7. Wishing Well
8. Nod (feat. Nosaj Thing)

Healing Is a Miracle is now available for pre-order.

Latest Coverage