Jóhann Jóhannsson Takes 'Prisoners' on New Score, Announces North American Tour Dates

Jóhann Jóhannsson Takes 'Prisoners' on New Score, Announces North American Tour Dates
Icelandic neoclassical composer Jóhann Jóhannsson is set to hit fans with new music on screens and onstage this fall via his score for the upcoming film Prisoners.

Directed by award-winning filmmaker Denis Villeneuve (Les Incendies) and starring Hugh Jackman, Jake Gyllenhaal, Melissa Leo, Paul Dano, Maria Bello and Terrence Howard, the flick is set to make its world premiere at the Toronto International Film Festival on September 6. The film is reportedly about a Boston man (Jackman) who kidnaps a person he feels is responsible for the disappearance of his daughter and her young friend.

You'll find a trailer for the movie down below.

Prisoners features a full score from Jóhannsson, which blends an orchestra equipped with a "large string and woodwind section" with the sounds of little-known string instruments the Cristal Baschet and the Ondes Martenot.

"I wanted the music to be a poetic voice that worked in counterpoint to the action of the film," Jóhannsson said in a statement. "Even though the movie is a thriller, the music is lyrical and beautiful, in stark contrast to the intensity of the film depicts."

On top of the film experience, Jóhannsson has announced he'll bring the music of Prisoners and more to a few North American concert venues this fall, kicking things off with a performance at Toronto's Music Gallery on September 8. You can see the rest of the dates down below.

Prisoners will receive a wider cinematic release on September 20. It's unclear if Jóhannsson's score will receive a proper audio release. In 2012, Jóhannsson released a score for Danish film Copenhagen Dreams.

Tour dates:

09/08 Toronto, ON - Music Gallery
09/10 New York, NY - Le Poisson Rouge
09/13 San Francisco, CA - Yoshi's
09/15 Los Angeles, CA - Masonic Lodge at Hollywood Forever