Jerry Goldsmith's 'Poltergeist' Score Gets Deluxe Vinyl Repress by Mondo

Jerry Goldsmith's 'Poltergeist' Score Gets Deluxe Vinyl Repress by Mondo
Mondo's recent streak of horror movie soundtrack reissues (The Deadly Spawn, The Beyond, Maniac) continues, with news that the reissue imprint is set to deliver a deluxe vinyl set for Jerry Goldsmith's score to Poltergeist.

As Modern Vinyl reports, the label will start selling the double-LP set on February 22, with alternate black or clear pressings being delivered at random. The soundtrack has been updated from its original 1982 pressing, and now features a reconfigured and expanded tracklist that includes additional compositions never before released on vinyl.

Among the bonus cuts is the opening cut, a "classic rendition" of "The Star Spangled Banner," as well as some other selections featured on the 2010 deluxe CD pressing.

Ultimately, the set is said to parallel the film's "intrusion of angry ghosts into the California home of the film's protagonists with dreadful strings and eerie keys." You can sample the airy but nonetheless eerie "Carol Anne's Theme" down below.

As with other Mondo reissues, the Poltergeist repress features newly commissioned artwork, this time from We Buy Your Kids (aka Australian illustrators Sonny Day and Biddy Maroney). You can see the spooky, coffin-loaded results up above.


1. The Star Spangled Banner

2. The Calling / The Neighborhood (Main Title)

3. The Tree (Outtake)

4. The Clown / They're Here / Broken Glass / The Hole / TV People

5. Twisted Abduction

6. Contacting The Other Side

7. The Light

8. Night Visitor / No Complaints

9. It Knows What Scares You

10. Rebirth

11. Night Of The Beast

12. Escape From Suburbia

13. Carol Anne's Theme (End Title)