Jah Wobble and Keith Levene Team Up for 'Yin and Yang'

Jah Wobble and Keith Levene Team Up for 'Yin and Yang'
Public Image Limited founding members Jah Wobble and Keith Levene might not have joined the post-punk band's recent reunion set This is PiL, but the respective four- and six-stringers have got together on their own to offer up their first studio collaboration in over 30 years. The album is called Yin and Yang, and it arrives via Cherry Red Records/MVD December 11.

A press release explains that the 10-song set is the first recording the pair have appeared on together since PiL's iconic 1980 LP Metal Box. According to dubby bass virtuoso Wobble, the collaboration started a few years back with some jam sessions, which led to the dudes heading out on the road as Metal Box in Dub before whipping off some newer material.

"I reunited with Keith a couple of years ago. He was off smack and keen to play again. We had a bash in a rehearsal room and it went well," Wobble said in a statement, adding that the chemistry between him and Levene is currently on point. "As far as I was concerned he was back and on top of his game again. I thought it would be a good idea to go and record some new material."

The collection features originals, as well as a 7/4 cover of George Harrison's Beatles raga "Within You Without You." You can download title track over here. Other musicians who participated on the album include drummer Marc Layton-Bennett, trumpeter Sean Corby and vocalist Nathan Maverick.

Yin and Yang:

1. Ying and Yang
2. Strut
3. Jags & Staffs
4. Mississippi
5. Within You Without You
6. Back on the Block
7. Fluid
8. Vampires
9. Understand
10. Understand Dub