Ice Cream's Carlyn Bezic Details Debut Solo Album as Jane Inc

Watch her new video for "Gem" from 'Number One'
Ice Cream's Carlyn Bezic Details Debut Solo Album as Jane Inc
U.S. Girls member and one-half of Toronto's Ice Cream, Carlyn Bezic, has announced plans for her debut solo album as Jane Inc. Titled Number One, the record will arrive via Telephone Explosion on March 19.

Today, she has shared the record's first single "Gem," alongside a new music video co-directed by Shanda Bezic, which sees Carlyn "surrendering to the identity we form through the images we post online." 

Jane Inc's debut album began as a solo affair, though Bezic later enlisted the help of recording engineer Steve Chahley to co-produce. The album also features contributions by Scott Hardware, Evan J. Cartwright of U.S. Girls and Aquakultre's Nick Dourado. 

"I think a lot of the songs on the album deal with how we form ourselves and how that gets fragmented and complicated by the societal structures we interact with," Bezic said of the record in a statement.

"It felt right to make a collage of pictures of me (and ads from magazines) for the cover of the album," she added. "It's like a weird fragmented self, building up an idea of who you are based on other people's ideas of you."

Watch Jane Inc's new video for "Gem" below, where you can also find the record's tracklisting. 

Number One:

1. Gem
2. Steel
3. Faceless, Bodiless
4. Dirt and the Earth
5. Bloom Becomes Me
6. My Oldest Friend
7. His, Mine
8. Obliterated

Pre-order Number One.