Hot Water Music Return with First New Album Since 2004

Hot Water Music Return with First New Album Since 2004
Last summer, melodic though gruff-throated Florida punk combo Hot Water Music wrapped up a seven-year hiatus by issuing their "The Fire, the Steel, the Tread" / "Adds Up to Nothing" seven-inch, and up next for the reunited act is a brand new full-length, which will be called Exister.

Exister will arrive May 15 through Rise Records and will mark the proper follow-up to their last long-player, 2004's The New What Next. To produce the record, Hot Water Music enlisted the Decendents' Bill Stevenson (Bouncing Souls, Rise Against, NOFX), who recorded the album in January at the Blasting Room in Fort Collins, CO.

"For us, calling the album Exister, I think it's a bit of a 'we're still here, and we're not going away anytime soon' type of statement," said bassist Jason Black in a press release. "It seems like the time off, coupled with everything we've all learned doing other projects and honing our respective crafts during that time, really worked in our favour and enabled to have a basically unending flow of ideas and creative sparks."

Frontman Chuck Ragan also added, "I feel like we accomplished more than we'd ever dreamed years ago. So from those points on, it all feels like a blessing. Granted, it is hard work and we do make sacrifices to do what we love, but at the end of the day, if we can hang onto the bond and the reasons that HWM began in the first place and what drove us all those years, then we've done our job. If we can continue playing our hearts out, smiling while doing it and continue to grow as friends and as musicians close to 20 years later, then we've succeeded beyond all of my hopes and expectations."


1. Mainline
2. Boy, You're Gonna Hurt Someone
3. State of Grace
4. Drown In It
5. Drag My Body
6. Safety
7. Exister
8. Wrong Way
9. Take No Prisoners
10. Pledge Wore Thin
11. No End Left In Sight
12. The Traps
13. Paid In Full