High on Fire Return with 'Electric Messiah' Album

Stream the new record's title track inspired by Motörhead's Lemmy
High on Fire Return with 'Electric Messiah' Album
High on Fire are officially coming back into our lives, as the band have announced a new studio album. Called Electric Messiah, the full-length will arrive on October 5 via eOne, and right now, you can hear the album's lead-off single.

Down below, you can stream the newly shared title track. It marks our first taste of the proper follow-up to 2015's Luminiferous, and the band's eighth studio album overall.

Speaking of the inspiration of "Electric Messiah," High on Fire frontman Matt Pike explained that it comes directly from late Motörhead leader Lemmy Kilmister.

"When Lemmy was still alive I always got compared to Lemmy, so I had this dream where he got pissed at me," Pike explained in a statement. "He gave me a bunch of shit, basically, and was hazing me. Not that he didn't approve of me, but like I was being hazed. The song is me telling the world that I could never fill Lemmy's shoes, because Lemmy's Lemmy. I wanted to pay homage to him in a great way. And it turned out to be such a good title that the guys said we should call the album Electric Messiah. Although at first the working title was Insect Workout with Lemmy."

For the new album, High on Fire once again worked with Converge sound hero/producer Kurt Ballou.

"Kurt just has a knack for us, man," Pike said. "We all work really well with him. Even if we have differences about how we want to record something, he works with us and understands what we do. We've been sticking with him because we haven't made a bad record with him yet."

Pike also seems more than a little stoked on the new album, saying the following:

This band keeps evolving. This is by far the best record I've ever made with the High on Fire stamp. It just keeps getting better and better. We just try to outdo ourselves. I'm not saying the old work is progressively worse, it's just that we get better every time instead of burning out, which is a common finality for a lot of bands. This album is fucking excellent, I just love everything on it, I'm not bummed about anything. It's great when you think that about your record.

Down below, you can check out the album's tracklist and hear "Electric Messiah." Up above, you can see the record's cover art.

Electric Messiah:

1. Spewn from the Earth
2. Steps of the Ziggurat/House of Enlil
3. Electric Messiah
4. Sanctioned Annihilation
5. The Pallid Mask
6. God of the Godless
7. Freebooter
8. The Witch and the Christ
9. Drowning Dog