High Fidelity Gets Its Own Hip-Hop Concept Album

<i>High Fidelity</i> Gets Its Own Hip-Hop Concept Album
While Brooklyn, NY rapper Donwill has been performing with his crew Tanya Morgan since 2003, he's now heading out on a new solo project, and it could trump everything he's done so far. After all, it's a concept album based upon High Fidelity.

Called Don Cusack in High Fidelity, the album re-imagines the film adaptation of Nick Hornby's novel as a hip-hop romantic comedy. Besides Donwill's Don Cusack persona, he's also recruited Souls of Mischief rapper Opio and Che Grand to take on the roles of Tim Robbins's Ian and Jack Black's Barry.

The album will be out on March 23 via Interdependent Media, but as Brooklyn Vegan reports, a preview mixtape called Laura's Tape is available now here. You can also see a music video for "Laura's Song" below.

Don Cusack in High Fidelity:

 1. "The Monologue"

2. "Laura's Song"

3. "Top 5 Breakups"

4. "Championship Vinyl" (ft. The Lessondary)

5. "Ian's Song" (ft. Opio)

6. "Shake It Easy" (ft. Peter Hadar & DJ Low Key)

7. "Love Junkie" (ft. Harlems Cash & Peter Hadar)

8. "December 27th"

9. "Breathe" (ft. Nicky Guiland)

10. "I See You" (ft. Ragen Fykes)

11. "Good" (ft. Che Grand, Ced Hughes & Ragen Fykes)

12. "Leading Lady"

13. "Pussy Rules The World" (ft. Mykestro & Bad Lucc)

14. "Maybe You & I"

15. "Girl Girl" (ft. Kay of the Foundation & Uzoy)

16. "Hey Baby" (performed by Ragen Fykes)