Here Are the Top 20 Finalists for the 2019 Prism Prize

BY Exclaim! StaffPublished Feb 21, 2019

The Prism Prize will once again be awarded to the best Canadian music video, and the list of 2019 finalists has just been revealed.

Among the artists up for the award this year are Arkells, Drake, the Weather Station, Chad VanGaalen, Said the Whale, Daniel Caesar, deadmau5, Jessie Reyez and more.
The winner is voted on by a jury of more than 120 Canadian music, film and arts professionals, and the videos are judged on originality, style, creativity, innovation and effective execution.
The winner will be gifted the $15,000 grand prize during a screening and ceremony on May 13 at the TIFF Bell Lightbox in Toronto. The shortlist of 10 finalists will be announced in April.
Last year's Prism Prize went to Charlotte Day Wilson for "Work"; she used the prize money to create a film grant for female and non-binary directors.
Without further ado, check out the Top 20 finalists for the 2019 Prism Prize and watch a compilation video of their work below.
Top 20 Prism Prize Finalists 2019:
Arkells – "People's Champ" (Director: Matt Barnes)
Bahamas – "No Depression" (Director: Ali J. Eisner)
Belle Game – "Low" (Director: Kevan Funk)
Blue Hawaii – "Do You Need Me" (Director: Kevan Funk)
Cadence Weapon – "High Rise" (Director: Lester Millado)
Chad VanGaalen – "Host Body" (Director: Chad VanGaalen)
Charlotte Cardin – "The Kids" (Director: Kristof Brandl)
Clairmont The Second – "Gheeze" (Director: Clairmont The Second)
Classified – "Powerless" (Director: Andrew Hines)
Daniel Caesar ft. H.E.R. – "Best Part, a Visual" (Directors: Keavan Yazdani & Sean Brown)
Deadmau5 – "Monophobia" (Directors: Nick DenBoer & Kenny Hotz)
Drake – "Nice For What" (Director: Karena Evans)
Harrison ft. Ralph – "Your Girl" (Directors: Ft. Langley)
Jean-Michel Blais – "Dans ma main" (Directors: Mauriès Matos)
Jessie Reyez – "Body Count" (Director: Peter Huang)
Rich Aucoin – "The Middle" (Director: Meags Fitzgerald)
Said The Whale – "UnAmerican" (Director: Johnny Jansen)
So Loki – "Athletes World" (Director: Lucas Hrubizna)
SonReal – "Have A Nice Day" (Director: Peter Huang)
The Weather Station - "Impossible" (Director: Colin Medley)

2019 Prism Prize Top 20 from Prism Prize on Vimeo.

Tour Dates

Latest Coverage