Morricone's 'Hateful Eight' Soundtrack Gets Vinyl Release Through Third Man

Morricone's 'Hateful Eight' Soundtrack Gets Vinyl Release Through Third Man
When the soundtrack to Quentin Tarantino's The Hateful Eight was detailed last month, it was revealed that it would not only include new music from master composer Ennio Morricone, but an old track from the White Stripes. Fittingly, it's now been announced that the soundtrack will be getting a vinyl release through Jack White's Third Man Records imprint.

A press release from the label confirmed today that The Hateful Eight's musical component will be spread out across two pieces of 12-inch vinyl, which arrive December 18, the same day Decca Records issues the soundtrack digitally and on CD. The wax edition will be housed in a "tri-fold reversible jacket with soft-touch finish," and it comes packaged with two posters and a booklet featuring stills from the western film.

It's added by Third Man that a special edition vinyl release is in the works for a later date, though few details have been dropped beyond that. You can pre-order the standard set over here.

As previously reported, the soundtrack to The Hateful Eight features plenty of new cues from Morricone and marks his first western score in years.

The rest of the release includes a variety of dialogue snippets pulled from the film, White Stripes track "Apple Blossom," Roy Orbison's "There Won't Be Many Coming Home," and a piece from David Hess (Last House on the Left). You can see the full tracklisting details below.

Tarantino's The Hateful Eight, which stars Samuel L. Jackson, Tim Roth, Kurt Russell, Jennifer Jason Leigh and more, opens in theatres on December 25.

In related news, Morricone was honoured with a special award by the New York Film Critic's Circle today (December 2). You'll find a list of other honourees over here.

The Hateful Eight:

1. Ennio Morricone - "L'ultima diligenza di red rock"
2. Ennio Morricone - "Ouverture"
3. Jennifer Jason Leigh - "Major Warren Meet Daisy Domergue"
4. Ennio Morricone - "Narratore letterario"
5. The White Stripes - "Apple Blossom"
6. Tim Roth - "Frontier Justice"
7. Ennio Morricone - "L'ultima diligenza di red rock"
8. Ennio Morricone - "Neve"
9. Kurt Russell - "This Here Is Daisy Domergue"
10. Ennio Morricone - "Sei cavalli"
11. Ennio Morricone - "Raggi di sole sulla montagna"
12. Samuel L. Jackson - "Son of the Bloody N**ger Killer of Baton Rouge"
13. Jennifer Jason Leigh - "Jim Jones at Botany Bay"
14. Ennio Morricone - "Neve"
15. Samuel L. Jackson - "Uncle Charlie's Stew"
16. Ennio Morricone - "I quattro passeggeri"
17. Ennio Morricone - "La musica prima del massacro"
18. Ennio Morricone - "L'inferno bianco"
19. Tim Roth - "The Suggestive Oswaldo Mobray"
20. David Hess - "Now You're All Alone"
21. Ennio Morricone - "Sangue e neve"
22. Ennio Morricone - "L'inferno bianco"
23. Ennio Morricone - "Neve"
24. Walton Goggins - "Daisy's Speech"
25. Ennio Morricone - "La lettera di lincoln"
26. Ennio Morricone - "La lettera di lincoln"
27. Roy Orbison - "There Won't Be Many Coming Home"
28. Ennio Morricone - "La puntura della morte"