Hannah Georgas, KEN Mode, Rah Rah, the Sheepdogs Come Out on Top at BreakOut West's Western Canadian Music Awards

Hannah Georgas, KEN Mode, Rah Rah, the Sheepdogs Come Out on Top at BreakOut West's Western Canadian Music Awards
This past weekend, BreakOut West took place in Calgary, with the celebrations concluding with the Western Canadian Music Awards at Flames Central on Sunday (October 6). Now, the results are in.

Among the night's big winners were Hannah Georgas for Pop Recording of the Year, Rah Rah for Independent Album of the Year, Jill Barber for Francophone Recording of the Year, KEN Mode for Metal/HardMusic Recording of the Year, Madchild for Rap/Hip-Hop Recording of the Year, DiRTY RADiO for Urban Recording of the Year, and Jon and Roy for Roots Duo/Group Recording of the Year.

Also, Saskatchewan's the Sheepdogs took home Rock Recording of the Year for their self-titled album, while frontman Ewan Currie won Songwriter of the Year.

See the full list of winners below. Scroll past that to read the winners of the Western Canadian Music Industry Awards, which honour non-performers.

Western Canadian Music Award winners:

Aboriginal Recording of the Year: Don Amero - Heart on My Sleeve
Blues Recording of the Year: Jack Semple - In the Blue Light
Children's Recording of the Year: Rick Scott - The Great Gazzoon: A Tall Tale with Tunes and Turbulence
Classical Composition of the Year: John Oliver - Forging Utopia
Classical Recording of the Year: Jason Cullimore - Cinematic Symphony and Gamescores
Country Recording of the Year: Gord Bamford - Is It Friday Yet?
Electronic/Dance Recording of the Year: Kytami - Kytami
Francophone Recording of the Year: Jill Barber - Chansons
Independent Album of the Year: Rah Rah - The Poet's Dead
Instrumental Recording of the Year: Mahogany Frog - SENNA
Jazz Recording of the Year: Erin Propp & Larry Roy - Courage, My Love
Metal/HardMusic Recording of the Year: KEN Mode - Entrench
Pop Recording of the Year: Hannah Georgas - Hannah Georgas
Rap/Hip-Hop Recording of the Year: Madchild - Dope Sick
Rock Recording of the Year: The Sheepdogs - The Sheepdogs
Roots Duo/Group Recording of the Year: Jon and Roy - Let It Go
Roots Solo Recording of the Year: Del Barber - Headwaters
Songwriter(s) of the Year: Ewan Currie - The Sheepdogs
Spiritual Recording of the Year: Steve Bell - Keening for the Dawn
Urban Recording of the Year: DiRTY RADiO - Cassette
World Recording of the Year: Alex Cuba - Ruido En El Sistema

Western Canadian Music Industry Award winners:

Agency of the Year: Paquin Entertainment Group
Album Design of The Year: Wool on Wolves
Engineer of the Year: Johnny Gasparic
Independent Record Label: Royalty Records
Live Music Venue of the Year: Commodore Ballroom
Manager of the Year: Gilles Paquin
Producer of the Year: Andy Shauf
Talent Buyer of the Year: Derek Bachman
Video of the Year: Procter Bros Industries - "Nothing's Gonna Harm You" by JP Hoe