Grimes Details 'Art Angels,' Shares New Video

Grimes Details 'Art Angels,' Shares New Video
Grimes season is officially upon us. The artist born Claire Boucher is finally set to follow 2012's Visions with the forthcoming Art Angels, and we now finally have all the details on the album, as well as the first new video behind the set.

After no firm release date for ages, we now know that Art Angels is due out digitally on November 6 via Eerie Organization/Crystal Math in Canada and 4AD/Beggars in the rest of the world. That's its tracklist below, which you'll notice includes a guest appearance by Janelle Monáe on the song "Venus Fly," Taiwanese rapper Aristophanes on the all-caps "SCREAM" and the previously shared "Realiti."

UPDATE (10/27, 11:50 a.m.): The physical release on CD, vinyl and cassette will follow on December 11.

Here's what the press release has to say about the album:

It was recorded primarily in her home studio in Los Angeles, CA, where she relocated to in 2014. Like all of her previous albums, Art Angels was written and recorded entirely as a solo endeavour. The new album features more live instrumentation than ever before on a Grimes record. She plays piano, guitar and violin, continuing her evolution as a musician and a producer for her most ambitious album to date.

The new song "Flesh Without Blood" was also just debuted on Annie Mac's BBC Radio 1 show. The track is a total pop banger, pairing guitar lines and driving beats with the singer's iconic voice. Though it's still certainly forward-thinking, it's not quite as avant-garde as some might expect.

In addition to making its radio debut, the song was also premiered in a batshit crazy video that'll surely please Grimes fans. The gory clip also closes out with a melodic acoustic song called "Life in the Vivid Dream," and the whole thing was written, directed, edited, coloured and art-directed by Grimes. Check out the video below that tracklist. 

Art Angels can be pre-ordered here. Read Exclaim!'s recent interview with Grimes here and see her upcoming tour dates here

Art Angels:

1. laughing and not being normal

2. California

3. SCREAM (ft. Aristophanes)

4. Flesh without Blood

5. Belly of the beat

6. Kill V. Maim

7. Artangels

8. Easily

9. Pin

10. Realiti 

11. World Princess part II

12. Venus Fly (ft. Janelle Monáe)

13. Life in the Vivid Dream
14. Butterfly