Gauntlet Hair Unveil 'Stills," Premiere New Single

Gauntlet Hair Unveil 'Stills,' Premiere New Single
Two years following the release of noise-pop duo Gauntlet Hair's  self-titled debut LP, the band have announced a follow-up. Titled Stills, it drops July 16 through Dead Oceans.

A press release notes that the band uprooted themselves from Denver and moved back to their hometown of Chicago since the release of Gauntlet Hair. The move apparently spiralled drummer Craig Nice and singer/guitarist Andy R. into a wave of nostalgia, which ultimately influenced their latest song cycle.  

"I started listening again to the stuff I would have in my discman in the back of my mom's car," Nice said in a statement. "White Zombie, Marilyn Manson — the production on those records is so amazing. Nothing sounds like that anymore."

Recorded by Unknown Mortal Orchestra member Jacob Portrait at his Cave studio in Portland, the LP also apparently takes influence from INXS, Depeche Mode and Whitney Houston's "I Wanna Dance With Somebody (Who Loves Me)," and diffuses all that into "a garden of dark delights."

You can sample lead-off track "Human Nature," an electronics-spiked whirlwind of spectral post-punk activity, in the YouTube player beneath the tracklisting.


1. Human Nature

2. Spew

3. Simple

4. Bad Apple

5. New To It

6. Obey Me

7. Heave

8. G.I.D.

9. Falling Out

10. Waste Your Art