Gauntlet Hair Announce Dead Oceans Debut

Gauntlet Hair Announce Dead Oceans Debut
After releasing a couple of seven-inches on acclaimed imprints Forest Family and Mexican Summer, Chicago-bred but Denver-based noise pop duo Gauntlet Hair have announced they'll be linking up with another esteemed indie label, Dead Oceans, for their upcoming, self-titled debut album.

A blog posting on the label's site confirms that it will be issuing Gauntlet Hair, an album pitting the "pulse-and-clap cues of modern club rap" with "ecstatic, tinny post-punk guitar," this October.

Recorded  this past spring at guitarist/vocalist Andy R.'s grandmother's place while she was away on vacation, the breezy, nine-song set's deep, pulsating throbs and blissed-out vocal melodies promise to take listeners on a disorienting yet delightful journey.

Standout "Top Bunk," which you can stream below, is further described as "a cooled-out, coastal slowgrind" full of "elliptical guitars and affably shouted and falsetto-sung mantras." It's a hazy, island-approved head-trip for fans of Panda Bear and Washed Out for sure.

Gauntlet Hair comes out October 18 on Dead Oceans.

Gauntlet Hair

1. "Keep Time"

2. "Top Bunk"

3. "Mop It Up"

4. "You Can't Feel It"

5. "Light's Out"

6. "It Shows"

7. "Overkill"

8. "That's Your Call"

9. "Shout in Tongues"

Gauntlet Hair "Top Bunk" by DOJAGSC