Gardens & Villa Get DFA's Tim Goldsworthy for 'Dunes'

Gardens & Villa Get DFA's Tim Goldsworthy for 'Dunes'
Two years after Gardens & Villa delivered their self-titled debut for Secretly Canadian, the indie act have announced their sophomore follow-up, Dunes, is set to arrive early next year.

The 10-song set is due February 4 and is said to feature a more nuanced approach to the band's "vibrant rhythms, fluttering flute melodies and pulsing synth lines," according to the press release. The record found the Santa Barbara, CA quintet travelling to Benton Harbor, MI, in the middle of winter to record with DFA co-owner/producer Tim Goldsworthy.

Goldsworthy apparently let the band run wild in the studio and gave them access to Sly Stone's custom-built "Flickinger" recording console. Yielded in the sessions are songs said to run from Prince-styled pop-funk ("Bullet Train") to icy synth-pop to more introspective piano jams ("Chrysanthemums," "Minnesota").

You'll find a stream of dancey first single "Bullet Train" below the tracklisting, as well as a glitchy album trailer that features footage of the band walking through fresh-fallen Michigan snow.


1. Domino
2. Colony Glen
3. Bullet Train
4. Chrysanthemums
5. Echosassy
6. Purple Mesas
7. Avalanche
8. Minnesota
9. Thunder Glove
10. Love Theme