The Fresh & Onlys' Wymond Miles Unveils Debut Solo Album

The Fresh & Onlys' Wymond Miles Unveils Debut Solo Album
There's been a lot of activity outside of San Francisco psych pop troupe the Fresh & Onlys' regular duties of late. First, frontman Tim Cohen recently announced Ruler of the Night, his next record with offshoot project Magic Trick, and now Fresh and Onlys guitarist Wymond Miles has revealed a solo record.

According to Sacred Bones, Miles will deliver his first full-length LP Under the Pale Moon via the imprint on June 12. The ten-song set follows this year's Earth Has Doors EP, but while that previous release was made up of long-gestating tunes, the full-length was apparently written rather quickly over the course of a few weeks last winter.

Described by Miles as "carnal," the record is said to zone in on short songs with simple, stripped-down arrangements in the vein of Echo and the Bunnymen, Nick Cave, Nikki Sudden and the Cure. "Singing the Ending" was inspired by the tragic, recent losses of both Miles's closest friend and some family members, but is said to be less of a morose piece of music than a "feverish grindstone of passion, dissent, desire, and an apolitical rebellion cry against the bondage of established order."

While a song sample of that track has yet to pop up, you can check out the echoey pop jam "Pale Moon" down below.

Miles will also be out on the road in support of Under the Pale Moon, opening select dates for Lotus Plaza. You can check the details down below.

Under the Pale Moon:

1. Strange Desire
2. Pale Moon
3. Singing the Ending
4. Run Like the Hunted
5. Youth's Lonely Wilderness
6. The Thirst
7. You and I Are of the Night
8. Lazarus Rising
9. Badlands
10. Trapdoors and Ladders

Tour dates:

5/5 Seattle, WA - The Barboza
5/6 Vancouver, BC - Media Club
5/7 Portland, OR - Doug Fir
5/9 San Francisco, CA - The Independent
5/10 Los Angeles, CA - The Echo
5/11 San Diego, CA - Soda Bar