Frederick Squire Returns with 'Spooky Action at a Distance'

Frederick Squire Returns with 'Spooky Action at a Distance'
It's been five years since Canadian indie tunesmith Frederick Squire delivered his last full-length release, but he's been keeping busy in and outside of the music world. The multitasker is now about to release Spooky Action at a Distance, a record made while simultaneously pursuing a degree in mechanical engineering and becoming a father.

A press release notes that the nine-song release, which follows 2011's Sings Shenandoah snd Other Popular Hits, will be released on May 27 though Direct Thought Management. It was performed, recorded and mixed by Squire in his basement in Copper Cliff, ON. Much of the material was written 10 years ago, though, when the solo artist was living in Dawson City, Yukon.

It's explained that old tracks like "Spill Your Lungs" and "Bike Thief" weigh in on "the ups and downs of a young man in and out of love," but more recent offerings like "This Place" contemplate "matrimonial harmony."

It's added that following the release of Spooky Action at a Distance, Squire will "power down the studio and switch his focus toward the future of robotics, gathering new experiences about the world we live in through scientific discovery, all the while slowly and carefully deciding what to write about next."

For now, you'll find the pensive, evenly-paced "Bike Thief" cycling via the player down below.

As previously reported, Squire played a hand in Kate Maki's upcoming album Head in the Sand, which arrives May 20. Down below you can also see a few joint tour dates from the pair.

Spooky Action at a Distance:

1. Spill Your Lungs
2. Book of Love
3. BOAT!
4. Bike Thief
5. Blue
6. Sweetest May
7. Switch the Engineer
8. This Place
9. J Floor

Tour dates:

06/03 Sudbury, ON - Cosmic Dave's Vinyl Emporium *
06/11 Toronto, ON - The Dakota Tavern *
07/08-10 Sudbury, ON - Northern Lights Festival

* with Kate Maki