Franz Ferdinand Offshoot Box Codax Prep Hellabuster Concept Album

Franz Ferdinand Offshoot Box Codax Prep <i>Hellabuster</i> Concept Album
We haven't heard much from Franz Ferdinand since 2008's Tonight and its 2009 dub reworking, Blood. While we're waiting for a new LP from the Scottish dance rock crew, guitarist Nick McCarthy will tide fans over with an album from his side-project, Box Codax.

The band feature McCarthy, plus his wife, Manuela Gernedel, and German poet Alex Ragnew. Their new LP is called Hellabuster and a press release says that it's a concept album about "the young years of the peculiar and private life of a boy named Hellabuster."

The band have been revealing tracks individually as a series of videos posted on this website. Three songs have been revealed to date: the title track, "Choco Pudding" and "Sandy Moffat." Based on these tunes, the album promises to be a surreal blend of indie rock, goofy lyrics and off-beat experimentalism.

See the tracklist below and keep checking back to the group's website for new songs to be revealed. It will be out in Europe on May 9 via Gomma. An Amazon listing suggests that the North American release will be the next day.

This will be the band's first album since their 2006 debut, Only an Orchard Away.


1. "Hellabuster"
2. "Seven Silvers"
3. "Radical Plains"
4. "Choco Pudding"
5. "Pour Moi"
6. "I Won't Come Back"
7. "Charade"
8. "Nothing More Than Anything"
9. "Sandy Moffat"
10. "Inanimate Inamorato"
11. "My Room"
12. "No Trains"
13. "Dawning"