Former M83 Member Nicolas Fromageau Returns as Team Ghost

Former M83 Member Nicolas Fromageau Returns as Team Ghost
In case you were a latecomer to the whole M83 thing, you might not know it, but the French outfit actually started with some thickly layered and, at times, blisteringly loud shoegaze in their mix. The group's first two albums, 2001's self-titled effort and 2003's Dead Cities, Red Seas and Lost Ghosts, saw M83 front-man Anthony Gonzalez collaborating with Nicolas Fromageau. Shortly after Dead Cities, Fromageau walked away from the project and Gonzalez soon led the group to their more pop-oriented direction of today.

Now, we're happy to announce that Fromageau has returned with a new project. Called Team Ghost, the group have him teaming up with producer Jean-Phillip Talaga and multi-instrumentalist Christophe Guerin. The trio have announced plans for a debut EP called You Never Did Anything Wrong this spring.

According to a press release, You Never Did Anything Wrong "takes the M83 blueprint of electronica, shoegaze and cinematic, Eno-esque soundscapes and adds krautrock rhythms, the sleazy Suicide-like post-punk of JJ Burnel's 'Euroman Cometh' and the stark synth-pop of the French coldwave."

You Never Did Anything Wrong will be released by Sonic Cathedral on May 3 in Europe. It will be available on limited black and white ten-inch vinyl and as a digital download. For now, six of the EP's seven tracks are streaming on the band's MySpace page.

Thanks to FACT for the heads-up.

You Never Did Anything Wrong to Me:
1. "Lonely, Lonely, Lonely"

2. "A Glorious Time"

3. "Sur Nous Les ɉtincelles Du Soleil"

4. "Echoes"

5. "Only You Can Break My Heart"

6. "Colors In Time"

7. "Deaf" (digital only)