Foo Fighters Detail 'Sonic Highways' LP

Foo Fighters Detail 'Sonic Highways' LP
There's been a lot of speculation around the album title of Foo Fighters' upcoming eighth studio set of late, including a recent cryptic album trailer called "8" that weighed in at exactly eight seconds long. The ocho-obsessed lead-up to the LP was apparently a major red herring, though, as the band have revealed that, like their HBO TV series, the album is called Sonic Highways.

Earlier today (August 11), the Foos put up a pre-order for the set on their website, confirming that the eight-song follow-up to 2011's Wasting Light is due to arrive November 10. The previously revealed artwork is indeed the album cover, but there's a catch. Nine separate covers are being delivered, showcasing each of the cities the band hit during the recording sessions for Sonic Highways: Chicago, Austin, Nashville, Los Angeles, Seattle, New Orleans, New York, and Washington, DC. You're not counting wrong, the ninth cover is the centrepiece: a building shaped like the sign for infinity, or, rather, a sideways eight.

You can see all the different covers here.

As previously reported, the Sonic Highways series tracks Dave Grohl on a journey around the U.S., getting the story behind several recording studios, much like his Sound City documentary. We've known for a while now that the series has him talking to engineers like Steve Albini, while the album itself was produced by Butch Vig.

Though it still hasn't been revealed exactly which collaborators contribute to which tracks, participants in the Sonic Highways project include Chuck D, Heart's Nancy Wilson, the Eagles' Joe Walsh, Cheap Trick's Rick Nielsen, Butthole Surfers' Gibby Haynes, Gary Clark Jr., Fugazi's Ian MacKaye and Kiss's Paul Stanley.

You'll find the full tracklisting down below, where you can also watch a new album trailer.

The Sonic Highways TV show will premiere on HBO on October 17.

Sonic Highways:

1. Something From Nothing
2. The Feast and The Famine
3. Congregation
4. What Did I Do?/God As My Witness
5. Outside
6. In The Clear
7. Subterranean
8. I Am A River