Folk Implosion's John Davis Returns with New Solo Album

Folk Implosion's John Davis Returns with New Solo Album
Now that Folk Implosion have been broken up for nearly a decade, and the band's Lou Barlow has been focusing on Dinosaur Jr. and Sebadoh, fellow founder John Davis has decided it's time to deliver another solo LP. Titled Spare Parts, it drops October 29 via Shrimper Records.

A press release notes that the LP is Davis's first solo set since 1997's Blue Mountains. While previous releases were whipped up fully on his own, the upcoming double-LP finds Davis joined by a cast of collaborators. This includes drummer Jose Medeles (Breeders, 1939 Ensemble), cellist/violinist Megan Siebe (Anniversaire, Simon Joyner and the Ghosts), back-up vocalists Laura Burhenn and Sarah Gleason, and more.

Simon Joyner helped produce the string work on the set, while also contributing backup vocals. The record was then mixed by Brandon Eggleston (Mountain Goats, Swans, tUnE-yArDs, Modest Mouse).

While a tracklisting has yet to appear in full, Spare Parts includes new cuts like "Blood Feud," the lap steel-assisted "You Won't Cry" and "Upon a Train." The song cycle apparently "mines an acoustic singer-songwriter vein" and takes influence from Stockhausen, Leonard Cohen's "Famous Blue Raincoat" and Scott Walker.

As for Davis's old Folk Implosion pal Barlow, the indie rock vet premiered his Sebadoh's new "All Kinds" video today (July 30) to promote their impending Defend Yourself LP, which arrives through Joyful Noise Recordings on September 17.