Felt Guitarist Maurice Deebank's 'Inner Thought Zone' Gets Reissued

Felt Guitarist Maurice Deebank's 'Inner Thought Zone' Gets Reissued
Nearly 30 years after Felt member Maurice Deebank momentarily stepped away from the English post-punk group to record his solo debut Inner Thought Zone, the instrumental album is getting reissued through 1972. The label drops the repress on CD on June 11 and LP on July 9.

Inner Thought Zone was originally issued by Cherry Red in 1984 and is marked by the musician's "melancholy guitar interplay," as the press release puts it. Songs like seven-minute centrepiece "Silver Fountain of Paradise Square" are said to be full of nuanced lead-work, "synthesizer flourishes and breezy plateaus of exaltation."

While Deebank played on Felt's classic early albums, such as Crumbling the Antiseptic Beauty, The Splendour of Fear and The Strange Idols Pattern and Other Short Stories, he left the group after recording their Robin Guthrie-produced 1985 record Ignite the Seven Cannons, and as the PR states, "it's easy to hear Inner Thought Zone as an exposition of the increasing introspection that led to his departure from Felt."

A tracklisting hasn't popped up for the platter, but it's most likely the vinyl repress will be of the original six-song release rather than Cherry Red's expanded 10-song edition of Inner Thought Zone that arrived on CD in 1992.

You can check out opening cut "The Watery Song" in the YouTube player down below.

Inner Thought Zone:

1. The Watery Song
2. Four Corners Of The Earth
3. Study No. 1
4. Silver Fountain Of Paradise Square
5. Dance Of Deliverance
6. Maestoso Con Anima