Explosions in the Sky Explore 'The Wilderness' on New LP

Explosions in the Sky Explore 'The Wilderness' on New LP
While the last few years have had them handling film scores, atmospheric Texas outfit Explosions in the Sky have announced their first proper studio LP in five years. Titled The Wilderness, the band's sixth full-length will be released April 1.

A press release notes that while the group had more recently offered up movie music work for films Prince Avalanche and Manglehorn, The Wilderness is the act's first "non-soundtrack" release since 2011's Take Care, Take Care, Take Care. Apparently — via influences of shoegaze, folk, "punk damaged dub," experimental electronic music and more — the nine-song collection has the group exploring the "infinite unknown."

It's added that The Wilderness delivers "some of the most memorable and listenable moments of the band's expansive body of work."

Down below, you'll find a tracklisting and a stream of the decidedly groove-heavy first single, "Disintegration Anxiety."

Pre-orders for the set, which include colour vinyl options, can be found here.

The Wilderness:

1. Wilderness
2. The Ecstatics
3. Tangle Formations
4. Logic of a Dream
5. Disintegration Anxiety
6. Losing the Light
7. Infinite Orbit
8. Colors in Space
9. Landing Cliffs