Eric Clapton's Mid-'70s Golden Era Documented with 'Give Me Strength' Box Set

Eric Clapton's Mid-'70s Golden Era Documented with 'Give Me Strength' Box Set
The year-plus period spanning from April 1974 to June 1975 was a pivotal time for guitar god Eric Clapton, and this key era will be documented via the new six-disc box set Give Me Strength: The '74/'75 Recordings. It will be out on November 25 through Universal.

During this time, Clapton experienced a creative and commercial resurgence after having emerged from a period of heroin addiction. Give Me Strength brings together expanded and remastered albums from the period, plus outtakes and rarities.

This includes 1974's 461 Ocean Boulevard (which features Clapton's massively successful cover of Bob Marley's "I Shot the Sheriff") and 1975's There One in Every Crowd, both of which are padded with bonus tracks. The 1975 live album E.C. Was Here, which is spread across two CDs, has similarly been expanded and remixed.

Disc five is The Freddie King Criteria Studios Session, which chronicles a 1974 recording session with blues guitarist Freddie King. Featured here is the full, 22-minute version of "Gambling Woman Blues." Lastly, disc six is a Blu-ray containing audiophile mixes of 461 Ocean Boulevard, There's One in Every Crowd and E.C. Was Here.

All told, the box set includes 29 bonus tracks, 12 of them previously unreleased. See the full tracklist below.

Give Me Strength: The '74/'75 Recordings:

CD 1: 461 Ocean Boulevard:

1. Motherless Children
2. Give Me Strength
3. Willie and the Hand Jive
4. Get Ready
5. I Shot the Sheriff
6. I Can't Hold Out
7. Please Be With Me
8. Let It Grow
9. Steady Rollin' Man
10. Mainline Florida
11. Ain't That Lovin' You
12. Meet Me (Down at the Bottom)
13. Lonesome Road Blues (Walkin' Down the Road)
14. Getting Acquainted
15. Getting Acquainted 2 (Too Late)
16. Eric After Hours Blues
17. Please Be With Me (acoustic)
18. Give Me Strength (Dobro 1)

CD 2: There's One in Every Crowd:

1. We've Been Told (Jesus Is Coming Soon)
2. Swing Low Sweet Chariot
3. Little Rachel
4. Don't Blame Me
5. The Sky Is Crying
6. Singin' The Blues
7. Better Make It Through Today
8. Pretty Blue Eyes
9. High
10. Opposites
11. Burial
12. What'cha Gonna Do
13. I Found a Love
14. (When Things Go Wrong) It Hurts Me Too
15. Fools Like Me
16. Knockin' on Heaven's Door
17. Someone Like You

CD 3: E.C. Was Here (disc 1)

1. Smile
2. Have You Ever Loved a Woman
3. Presence of the Lord
4. Crossroads
5. I Shot the Sheriff
6. Layla
7. Little Wing
8. Can't Find My Way Home
9. Driftin' Blues / Ramblin' on My Mind

CD 4: E.C. Was Here (disc 2)

1. Ramblin' on My Mind / Have You Ever Loved a Woman
2. Willie and the Hand Jive / Get Ready
3. The Sky Is Crying / Have You Ever Loved a Woman / Ramblin' on My Mind
4. Badge
5. Driftin' Blues
6. Eyesight to the Blind / Why Does Love Got to Be So Sad
7. Further on up the Road

CD 5: The Freddie King Criteria Studios Sessions:

1. Sugar Sweet
2. Tv Mama
3. Boogie Funk
4. Gambling Woman Blues


1. 461 Ocean Boulevard (Elliot Scheiner 5.1 surround Sound mix)
2. 461 Ocean Boulevard (original quadraphonic mix)
3. There's One In Every Crowd (original quadraphonic mix)
4. E.C. Was Here (original quadraphonic mix) (previously Unreleased