Dustin Wong and Takako Minekawa Announce Collaborative Album

Dustin Wong and Takako Minekawa Announce Collaborative Album
Dustin Wong's first LP following the breakup of Ponytail was a solo set called Dreams Say, View, Create, Shadow Leads, but the eclectic guitar virtuoso's next release brings him back to the collaborative world. The team-up is with quirky Japanese electro-pop singer Takako Minekawa, and their Toropical Circle LP arrives May 15 through PLANCHA.

As Pitchfork reports, the LP, which is Minekawa's first substantial release since 2000's Maxi On EP, features 13 new tunes. Minekawa started up the partnership after having seen Wong perform in 2011, and after they began corresponding with each other, they began working on the LP.

Sound samples have yet to arrive off the effort, but the pair will play some shows together in Japan later this year. You can see the schedule, which includes some upcoming North American solo dates from Wong, down below.

Toropical Circle:

1. Party on a Floating Cake

2. Windy Prism Room

3. Circle has Begun (yorokobi humming)

4. Two Acorns' dreams Growing as One

5. I Want to be with You

6. Swimming Between Parallel Times

7. Bell Tree Dancers

8. Enneagram Journey

9. New Circle was Begun

10. Story of Roots and Hands

11. Solar Glory

12. Electric Weave

13. Mirror Underwater in a Magic Lantern

Tour dates:

3/7 Denton, TX - 35 Denton

3/9 Monterrey, Mexico - Festival NRML

3/14-15 Austin, TX - SXSW

3/24 Tokyo, Japan - SOUP *

4/10 Tokyo, Japan - Tsukimirukimiomofu

4/16 Tokyo, Japan - Kichimu *

5/18 Osaka, Japan - epok

5/19 Kanazawa, Japan - 21st Century Museum of Contemporary Art

5/20 Nagoya, Japan - K.D Japon

5/26 Tokyo, Japan - O-nest *

* with Takako Minekawa