Drag City Unearths Tony Caro & John Rarities on 'Blue Clouds'

Drag City Unearths Tony Caro & John Rarities on 'Blue Clouds'
Relatively unknown psych-folk act Tony Caro & John will be celebrated via a new rarities collection from Drag City. The release is called Blue Clouds and compiles lost recordings from the trio between 1972 and 1977.

According to a press release, Blue Clouds "stands up as a 'great lost album' of English pastoral folk like Incredible String Band, Bert Jansch, Left-Handed Marriage, Forest, etc. There are full-band head-rockers here -- as well as quiet, stripped-down home recordings -- plus a little futuristic (!) drum machine sprinkled among the folky whimsy."

Composed of Tony Dore, John Clark and Caroline Clark, the group performed on the folk circuit, and released All on the First Day, their only official full-length, in 1972. Even that record was limited to 99 copies and remained mostly unheard until Gaarden Records reissued it in 2010.

The songs on Blue Clouds were recorded by Clark on a Ferrograph tape recorder, making them relatively lo-fi even for the era and scene from which they emerged,

Drag City will issue Blue Clouds on November 6 as a co-release with Gaarden Records and Galactic Zoo Disk.

Blue Clouds:

1. Forever and Ever (1974)
2. Bye Bye I Love You (1975)
3. Home (1974)
4. Sally Free and Easy (1977)
5. Where the Elephants Go To Die (1975)
6. Ton Ton Macoutes (1977)
7. Swirling Sphere (1972)
8. Pretty Saro (1977)
9. Children Of Plenty (1971)
10. There Are No Great Heroes (1974)
11. The Road to Avalon (1974)