Down Return with EP Series, Premiere New Material

Down Return with EP Series, Premiere New Material
Despite dropping a live album in 2010, Sludgey southern metal supergroup Down haven't issued any studio material since 2007's Down III: Over the Under. The oppressively heavy unit are now back with a vengeance. The group, made up of ex- and current members of Pantera, Corrosion of Conformity, Eyehategod and Crowbar, have set their sights on delivering four EPs, with the first mini-effort arriving in September.

First up is the six-song Down IV Part 1 - The Purple EP, which drops September 18 through the group's own Down Records. The record was self-produced and recorded at vocalist Phil Anselmo's New Orleans home studio Nodfertu's Lair. While there's still a month and a half to go before that release date, the band just put new number "Witchtripper" up for sale on iTunes. You can stream the heavy-handed number, as well as a radio rip of EP closer "Misfortune Teller," down below.

Speaking with Rolling Stone, Anselmo hinted that the second EP should arrive early next year, and the third and fourth records should follow sometime after that. But considering the gaps between existing recordings, Anselmo also added that you shouldn't take his word on those ETAs as bond just yet.

"The worst thing anyone could do is to count on Down for holding a bargain on timelines," he said. "All I can say is expect it. I'm sure it'll happen, we haven't let you down before."

Anselmo also revealed that he'll debut a solo project on an upcoming split with Texas unit Warbeast via his Housecore Records label that will precede his full-length Walk Through Exits Only. The split should arrive in September, and the LP is scheduled for early 2013.

"Dude, it's like a nervous-wreck record," he said of the solo set. "It's very herky-jerky, man. Very extreme, I guess."

Down IV Part 1 - The Purple EP:

1. Levitation

2. Witchtripper

3. Open Coffins

4. The Curse Is A Lie

5. This Work Is Timeless

6. Misfortune Teller