Dizzy Detail New Record 'The Sun and Her Scorch'

Hear album track "The Magician" now
Dizzy Detail New Record 'The Sun and Her Scorch'
Dizzy have shared details of a new album. The Oshawa four-piece will release The Sun and Her Scorch on July 31 through Royal Mountain Records.

The Sun and Her Scorch follows Dizzy's 2018 debut Baby Teeth, and was produced by the band and mixed Craig Silvey. Eleven tracks in length, the album was recorded at Quebec's Mechanicland Studios and in frontwoman Katie Munshaw's mother's basement.

"Baby Teeth was all about the confusion and sadness of my late teens, but this one is more about the qualities about myself that I'm not very proud of," Munshaw said of The Sun and Her Scorch. "I wanted to be completely honest about the things nobody ever wants to admit, like being jealous of your friends or pushing away the people who love you. So instead of being about romantic heartbreak, it's really about self-heartbreak."

The previously shared "Sunflower" appears in the tracklist, with new song "The Magician" arriving today alongside the announcement. 

"The song is about wanting to magically bring a friend of mine who passed away back to life," Munshaw explained. "To me 'The Magician' reeks of naivety and innocence in a way that really hurts my heart. Hoping she'll walk into my gig at the local pub, hoping to see her mom at Sobeys just to remember how similar their laughs were. Hoping for magic. It's a really emotional song for me but is masked by tricky, pretty production to make it sound almost joyful."

Watch a video for "The Magician" below.

The Sun and Her Scorch:

1. Worms 
2. Sunflower 
3. Good and Right
4. The Magician 
5. Beatrice 
6. Roman Candles
7. Lefty
8. Primrose Hill
9. Daylight Savings Time
10. Ten 
11. Worms II

The Sun and Her Scorch is now available for pre-order.