DFA Inks Deal with Japanese Psych Warriors Yura Yura Teikoku, Gives Hollow Me Domestic North American Release

DFA Inks Deal with Japanese Psych Warriors Yura Yura Teikoku, Gives <i>Hollow Me</i> Domestic North American Release
As we all know, LCD Soundsystem and DFA Records head James Murphy has some great tastes. It should then come as no surprise that DFA sub-label Death From Abroad has signed a deal with Japan's Yura Yura Teikoku.

If you've yet to experience the wild and wooly psychedelic sounds of this long-running Tokyo trio, well, you're missing out. But come September 22, you can fix all that when Death From Abroad gives a long-overdue domestic release of the band's 2007 effort Hollow Me, which will also come with the "Beautiful" single attached.

As Death From Abroad explains in the press release, "Yura Yura Teikoku are a bona fide institution at home, arguably the only underground psychedelic group there to have achieved overground success. They've gathered a huge following over the past 20 years, yet become progressively stranger and more experimental, cramming both weird and classic influences into a unique, potent form."

The release goes on to describe the group's sound as taking bit from Can, 10CC, T Rex and ESG, though skips out the bit about these long-hairs' love for writing rock epics dedicated to solely yokai.

As for Hollow Me itself, the album marks Yura Yura Teikoku's tenth full-length and was recorded at Japan's Peach Studio with the group's own You Ishihara handling the production. Apparently, it also "abandons the ecstatic, blown-out psychedelia of their earlier work for a more subdued, streamlined trip into their strange pop world," and like all their releases it's sung entirely in Japanese.

Also, if you're south of the border, this month Yura Yura Teikoku are making a rare trip to the U.S. for a trio of U.S. shows, two of which are in support of Yo La Tengo.

Thanks to Fact for the heads-up.

Hollow Me:

1. "Ohayo Mada Yaro"
2. "Dekinai"
3. "Sweet Surrender"
4. "Tender Animals"
5. "Still Alive"
6. "Listless Dream" (Album Version)
7. "Beautiful" (Album Version)
8. "In The Forest"
9. "Lonely Satellite"
10. "Hollow Me"


11. "Beautiful"
12. "Listless Dream"
13. "Miserable and Ashamed"
14. "The Boat"

Tour dates:

9/15 Burlington, VT - Higher Ground *
9/16 Boston, MA - Wilbur Theater *
9/18 New York, NY - Music Hall of Williamsburg

* with Yo La Tengo