'Palo Alto' Soundtrack Featuring Blood Orange, Mac DeMarco Released

'Palo Alto' Soundtrack Featuring Blood Orange, Mac DeMarco Released
We already knew that Blood Orange songwriter Devonté Hynes had scored the James Franco flick Palo Alto, and with the film set to be released this spring, the details of the soundtrack have now been announced.

It's available as of today (April 25) on iTunes through Domino, with physical copies to follow on June 3. The CD and vinyl versions can be pre-ordered here. Note that the vinyl version includes 10 songs compared to the 14 on CD or digital download.

Two of Hynes' original compositions for the film are included and are credited to his given name. There are also a couple of previously released Blood Orange cuts. At the bottom of this page, hear the title cut "Palo Alto," which has a smooth, futuristically soulful sound akin to Hynes' work as Blood Orange.

The soundtrack also includes Mac DeMarco, Rooney's Robert Schwartzman, Tonstartssbandht and more. See the tracklist below.

Palo Alto is a teenage drama based on Franco's short story collection of the same name. It's directed by Gia Coppola and stars Franco along with Emma Roberts and Val Kilmer. It has already screened at a couple of film festivals.

Palo Alto: Music From the Motion Picture:

1. Devonté Hynes - "Palo Alto"
2. Mac DeMarco - "Ode To Viceroy"
3. Robert Schwartzman - "Fútbol Americano"
4. Blood Orange - "Champagne Coast"
5. Tonstartssbandht - "5FT7"
6. Coconut Records - "Is This Sound Okay?"
7. Nat & Alex Wolff - "Rock Star (Movie Version)"
8. Francesco Pennino - "Senza Mamma"
9. Robert Schwartzman - "Graveyard"
10. Robert Schwartzman - "So Bad"
11. Devonté Hynes - "April's Daydream"
12. Robert Schwartzman - "It's You"
13. Jack Kilmer - "T.M."
14. Blood Orange - You're Not Good Enough"