Godspeed You! Black Emperor Confirm New Album 'Luciferian Towers'

The group have also now shared a brief teaser of new music after details of the upcoming record leaked online last month

BY Brock ThiessenPublished Aug 2, 2017

While nothing has yet been confirmed, it appears Godspeed You! Black Emperor are returning with a new album.

Early this morning (July 13), details leaked online that the Montreal experimental rock greats are set to release a new full-length apparently called Luciferian Towers, which will mark their first proper album since 2015's Asunder, Sweet and Other Distress.

UPDATE (8/2, 11:15 a.m.): Constellation has now confirmed the album, revealing the previously leaked details to be accurate. Along with the confirmation, the band have shared a brief "unpacking" video, which previews some new music from the record. You can watch that below and pre-order the album here.

The details of the album come courtesy of the music sleuths on Reddit, where a quickly spreading pdf has been shared containing a very proper-looking press release from Secretly Distribution. According to the press release, which you can see for yourself here, Luciferian Towers will arrive on September 22 via Constellation Records.

The album will apparently have four tracks (two per side), run 44:54 minutes and contain the album art above. You can its tracklist below.

The press release also reads as follows:

this, this long-playing record, a thing we made in the midst of communal mess, raising dogs and children, eyes up and filled with dreadful joy — we aimed for wrong notes that explode, a quiet muttering amplified heavenward. we recorded it all in a burning motorboat.

The release then goes on to give wildly written song descriptions (see below) for each track on the album before closing by stating the LP was informed by a series "grand demands," which are:

+ an end to foreign invasion
+ an end to borders
+ the total dismantling of the prison-industrial complex
+ healthcare, housing, food and water acknowledged as an inalienable human right
+ the expert fuckers who broke this world never get to speak again

So far, neither the band nor Constellation has confirmed the validity of the press release, but all signs point to this being a very legit — though unfortunately leaked — press release.

Luciferian Towers:

1. Undoing a Luciferian Towers
2. Bosses Hang
3. Fam/Famine
4. Anthem for No State

Godspeed You! Black Emperor • Luciferian Towers • LP package from Constellation Records on Vimeo.

Tour Dates

Latest Coverage