Death From Above 1979 Unveil 'Live at Third Man Records' Release

Death From Above 1979 Unveil 'Live at Third Man Records' Release
Last summer, Toronto noise-pop duo Death From Above 1979 took the songs from their The Physical World down to Tennessee to play a show at Third Man Records' famed Blue Room. In case you weren't down south for the show, a live recording is being released this Friday (April 22).

A press release notes that the previously promised Live at Third Man Records release pulls from two 20-minute sets Jesse Keeler and Sebsatien Grainger performed last August, with both blasts being big on material off of The Physical World. Older tracks include You're a Woman, I'm a Machine's "Little Girl."

A statement from Death From Above 1979 has the act explaining that they've generally "been wary of live recording experiences because they can end up so sterile and flat sounding," but they had no qualms putting their trust in Jack White and the Third Man team.

"When we were asked to record Live at Third Man Records we agreed without hesitation," they explained. "If there is one person who knows about feeling the moment, it's Jack White. He's the patron saint of vibes. We cut two twenty minute long sets straight to acetate. No second chances. Terrifying but alive. Third Man were such phenomenal hosts and the audience went bananas with us. It was such an honour to be a part of. The whole thing was such a rush, it almost feels like a dream."

You'll find the full tracklisting below, where you'll also discover a stream of a Universal monster movie-sampling performance of The Physical World's "Right On, Frankenstein."

As previously reported, Death From Above 1979 launch a Canadian tour with Eagles of Death Metal next week. The first show is next Tuesday (April 26) at Vancouver's PNE Forum. You'll find the full tour breakdown over here.

Death From Above 1979: Live at Third Man Records:

1. Right On, Frankenstein
2. Virgins
3. Going Steady
4. White Is Red
5. Trainwreck 1979
6. Gemini
7. Little Girl
8. Go Home Get Down
9. Government Trash
10. Always On
11. The Physical World