Death Cab for Cutie Reveal 'The Barsuk Years' Box Set

Death Cab for Cutie Reveal 'The Barsuk Years' Box Set
While Death Cab for Cutie leader Ben Gibbard is currently promoting his solo set Former Lives, the longtime pop-rock favourites are about to use their downtime to celebrate their indie period with a catalogue-celebrating box set.

All of the Bellingham, WA-bred band's LPs and EPs issued through Barsuk between 1998 and 2003 are being packaged in a vinyl box set that will arrive January 7, with some of the material landing on wax for the very first time. The albums are 1998's Something About Airplanes, 2000's We Have the Facts and We're Voting Yes, 2001's The Photo Album and 2003's Transatlanticism. EP-wise, you'll be treated to the first-ever vinyl pressings of 2000's Forbidden Love and 2001's The Stability.

Also being pressed on vinyl will be the band's demo collection You Can Play These Songs With Chords from 1997. A tracklisting has yet to arrive, so it's unclear if the LP will be packaged as the demo proper, or with the same rarities and B-sides that appeared on a 2002 CD edition.

All of the records are being pressed on 180-gram vinyl, and everything from the demo up to The Stability EP was remastered by Roger Seibel.

Each LP will be packaged individually and features its original artwork. The seven-record set comes housed in a cloth-bound box signed by the band and numbered out of 1,500. You can pre-order the set now over here.