Dean Drouillard to Release 'UFO Houses' Solo Album

Dean Drouillard to Release 'UFO Houses' Solo Album
Dean Drouillard has lent his guitar talents to the likes of Royal Wood, Sarah Harmer and Matthew Barber, but now he's stepping back into spotlight for his latest solo album. UFO Houses will be out on October 29 through Backward Music.

The album is entirely instrumental, and a press release points to sonic touchstones like George Harrison, Nils Cline, Ennio Morricone, Robert Fripp, Nick Drake and Jonny Greenwood. The nine tracks are said to be "hazy, dramatic vignettes," and the album was was recorded in a Toronto loft with producer Joshua Van Tassel (of Great Lake Swimmers), who also plays drums.

The album cover is above and the tracklist is below. Keep scrolling down to hear opening cut "Return to the Start," the slide licks of which show off the aforementioned Harrison influence. The near-five-minute arrangement gets heavier and headier as it progresses, culminating in a swirling fuzz freakout.

This is the final instalment in what's dubbed the Backward Music's Singles Series, although that's something of a misnomer since this is a full-length rather than a single.

UFO Houses:

1. Return to the Start
2. Mid Air
3. Earl No. 2
4. UFO Houses
5. Iz No. 3
6. Monster Walk
7. Lost City
8. Tightrope Spotlight
9. Shovelling an Abundance of Light