David Lynch to Release Benefit Comp as Vinyl Box Set for Record Store Day

David Lynch to Release Benefit Comp as Vinyl Box Set for Record Store Day
Last year, moviemaker (and occasional songwriter) David Lynch unveiled the compilation Music That Changes the World as a digital download, with proceeds going to his own David Lynch Foundation charity (which promotes the use of transcendental meditation in schools). Soon, that digital collection will be released as a limited-edition vinyl box set for Record Store Day on April 21 via Altavoz Distribution.

The four-LP set is star-studded to say the least, with big-name contributors including Tom Waits, Iggy Pop, Arrested Development, Moby, Peter Gabriel, Maroon 5, Donovan, and Ben Folds. Much of the music is rare or exclusive to the collection.

Donovan said in a press release, "As head of the Musical Wing of the David Lynch Foundation, I wish to thank all the amazing artists who have contributed. From the beginning, when the Beatles and I were writing songs to promote Maharishi's meditation, it was always my dream to bring all the musical fraternity onto one great label to promote true peace. This day has arrived and now the world can know as we knew then, that change begins within."

In addition to the vinyl set, buyers will also get a digital version of the documentary Meditation, Creativity, Peace. This centres on Lynch's lecture tour during 2007 and 2008.

Only 2,500 copies of the box set will be made. It comes with a 42-page colour book with an introduction from Lynch himself.

Music That Changes the World:

Vol 1.0

A1. Peter Gabriel - "Curtains"

A2. Ozomatli - "Monster"

A3. Arrested Development - "Let It Go"

A4. Slightly Stoopid w. Don Carlos - "Wiseman, Live @ Black Water"

B1. Iggy Pop - "Milk Cow Blues"

B2. Phil Soussan - "Shot in the Dark"

B3. Rodrigo y Gabriela - "Satori, live"

B4. Band From TV - "I Wish I Knew How It Would Feel to Be Free"

Vol 1.2:

A1. Moby - "The Poison Tree"

A2. Ben Lee - "Food for the Moon"

A3. Alanis Morissette - "20/20"

A4. Heather Nova - "Doubled Up"

B1. Amanda Palmer - "In My Mind"

B2. Nancy Sinatra - "End of the World"

B3. Tom Waits - "Briar and the Rose (Live)"

B4. Au Revoir Simone - "Boys of Summer"

B5. Special Beat w. Pauline Black - "Night Club"

Vol 1.3:

A1. Maroon 5 - "The Air I Breathe"

A2. Pink Jaffee featuring Jakob Dylan w. Daryl Hannah - "Wont You Stay"

A3. Emin - "All I Need Tonight"

A4. The Waterboys - "In the Beginning Was Love"

A5. Carmen Rizzo w. Grant-Lee Phillips - "Bring the Mountain Down"

B1. The Charlatans - "The Only One I Know (RMX_with Factory Floor)"

B2. Andy Summers featuring Geeta Novotny - "Ave Maria"

B3. The Ghost of a Saber Tooth Tiger - "Formica"

Vol. 1.4:

A1. Dave Stewart - "Man to Man"

A2. Ben Folds - "Wild Mountain Thyme"

A3. Donovan - "Listen"

A4. Mary Hopkin - "Gold and Silver"

A5. Peter & Gordon - "True Love Ways"

B1. Patricia Kaas Remix by Jourdan Bordes"

B2. Neon Trees - "Animal, djs From Mars Remix"

B3. Salman Ahmad w. Valerie Geffner - "Nachoon Gi."