David Bowie's 'The Man Who Fell to Earth' Soundtrack Gets First Official Release

David Bowie's 'The Man Who Fell to Earth' Soundtrack Gets First Official Release
While David Bowie fans will soon get another chance to see cult sci-fi/addiction allegory The Man Who Fell to Earth in cinemas, it turns out they'll be able to bring its music home too. As part of the film's 40th anniversary celebrations, its soundtrack is about to get its first official release.

A post on Bowie's website confirms that a double CD arrives September 9 via Universal Music Catalogue, the same day the movie re-hits UK theatres. A deluxe box is also due to drop November 18, the same day the film gets a DVD release.

Despite Bowie's starring role, as the alien Thomas, the film does not feature any music from the iconic artist. Instead, it features exclusive music from John Phillips of the Mamas & the Papas and Japanese prog-fusionist Stomu Yamashta.

Its explained that a soundtrack had been planned to be released back in 1976, and was even teased at the time on the back cover of updated editions of Walter Tevis's 1963 novel, The Man Who Fell to Earth. The master tapes had apparently been filed away at the time, but were only recently rediscovered. The full reasons as to why it wasn't delivered on time are explained in a 48-page book that comes with the deluxe box set, which also holds two CDs and two LPs.

Phillips's contributions were written exclusively for the film, while the expanded release adds several pieces that didn't make the final cut.

In addition to compositions from Phillips and Yamashta, the soundtrack also showcases Louis Armstrong's version of "Blueberry Hill," as well as performances from the Kingston Trio, the Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra, and the Queen's Hall Light Orchestra.

You'll find the tracklisting details down below.

As previously reported, The Man Who Fell to Earth had been given a 4K restoration from Deluxe London for STUDIOCANAL. The restored version has been given the thumbs-up by director Nic Roeg and cinematographer Anthony Richmond.

While it opens in the UK next month, North American screenings have yet to be confirmed.

The Man Who Fell to Earth (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack):

Disc one:

1. Stomu Yamashta - "Poker Dice"
2. Gordon Jenkins Orchestra And Choir and Louis Armstrong - "Blueberry Hill" (Single Version)
3. John Phillips - "Jazz II"
4. Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra and George Hurst - "The Planets, Op. 32 Venus, The Bringer Of Peace"
5. John Phillips - "Boys From The South"
6. Stomu Yamashta - "33 1/3"
7. John Phillips - "Rhumba Boogie"
8. The Kingston Trio - "Try To Remember"
9. Stomu Yamashta - "Mandala"
10. John Phillips - "America"
11. Stomu Yamashta - "Wind Words"
12. John Phillips - "Jazz"

Disc two:

1. Stomu Yamashta - "One Way"
2. John Phillips - "Space Capsule"
3. John Phillips - "Bluegrass Breakdown"
4. John Phillips - "Desert Shack"
5. Stomu Yamashta - "Memory Of Hiroshima"
6. John Phillips - "Window"
7. John Phillips - "Alberto"
8. Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra and George Hurst - "The Planets, Op. 32 Mars,The Bringer Of War" (Excerpt)
9. John Phillips - "Liar, Liar"
10. John Phillips - "Hello Mary Lou"
11. Queen's Hall Light Orchestra and Robert Farnon - "Silent Night"
12. Genevieve Waite and John Phillips - "Love Is Coming Back"
13. John Phillips - "The Man Who Fell To Earth" (Demo)