Dan Auerbach's the Arcs Announce First New Album in Eight Years, Share Lead Single

Hear "Keep on Dreamin'" from the record dedicated to late band member Richard Swift

Photo: Alysse Gafkjen

BY Megan LaPierrePublished Oct 13, 2022

The Black Keys' Dan Auerbach has brought his side project the Arcs out of the woodwork for a new album — the band's first in eight years. Today, they're previewing the effort with new single "Keep on Dreamin'."

Electrophonic Chronic arrives January 27 via Auerbach's own Easy Eye Sound. It follows the Arcs' 2015 debut Yours, Dreamily.

Largely tracked before the death of Richard Swift in 2018, the new LP features the full Arcs lineup of Swift, Auerbach, Leon Michels, Nick Movshon and Homer Steinweiss.

"This new record is all about honouring Swift," Auerbach shared in a release. "It's a way for us to say goodbye to him, by revisiting him playing and laughing, singing. It was heavy at times, but I think it was really helpful to do it."

Auerbach continued:

Whether it was New York City or Nashville or L.A. or Swift's hometown of Cottage Grove, Oregon, wherever we were, we would always get in the studio together. It was our favourite thing to do. It's rare that you meet a group of people that you click with like that, who you instantly bond with. We were just having fun, making sounds, making music. It was an amazing time for me.

Michels, who co-produced Electrophonic Chronic alongside Auerbach, added: "There are probably between 80 and 100 tracks that we laid down, because we just constantly recorded after we put out Yours, Dreamily. It was so much fun to be in the studio once again, so we were just making music all the time. I think there was always a plan to make a follow-up record."

Auerbach released Dropout Boogie with the Black Keys this spring, but that clearly didn't fulfill his neo-psychedelic needs the way only the Arcs can.

Watch the video for grungy groover "Keep on Dreamin'" — created by Robert "Roboshobo" Schober and visual artist El Oms, who also illustrated the album cover — below, where you can also check out the full LP tracklist.

Electrophonic Chronic:

1. Keep on Dreamin'
2. Eyez
3. Heaven Is a Place
4. Califone Interlude
5. River
6. Sunshine
7. A Man Will Do Wrong
8. Behind the Eyes
9. Backstage Mess
10. Sporting Girls Interlude
11. Love Doesn't Live Here Anymore
12. Only One for Me

Pre-order Electrophonic Chronic.

Latest Coverage