Culture Reject Returns with 'Forces' EP

Culture Reject Returns with 'Forces' EP
Back in 2008, we called Michael O'Connell's debut album as Culture Reject a "majestic achievement." Now, more than five years later, he's finally ready to follow it up with a new EP. Forces is out on July 2 through Specific Recordings/White Whale Records.

The six songs find O'Connell working with bandmates Carlie Howell (bass, vocals) and Karri North (vocals). They laid down bed tracks and vocals at Toronto's 6 Nassau Recording Studio last summer before O'Connell retreated to a cabin near Ontario's Killbear Park to record overdubs during the fall.

According to a press release, the album boasts rhythmic arrangements and "evolves out of the compelling experimentation of the debut but explores darker tones enveloped in rich harmonies, heavier guitars, intricate percussion, trumpets and generally, more sophisticated production."

Get a taste of this by streaming the clattering, densely layered pop number "Talkin Easy" at the bottom of this page.

Forces will be available on vinyl through Specific Recordings and digitally via White Whale Records. It's the precursor to a full-length in 2014.

The EP tracklist is below, along with Culture Reject's upcoming Canadian tour schedule.


1. Avalanche
2. Quicksand
3. Talkin Easy
4. Timeless Outrage
5. Brand New Well Worn Suit
6. In My Lovin

Tour dates:

7/6 Guelph, ON - Department of Lost Records
7/18 Montreal, QC - Quai des Brumes
7/19 Ottawa, ON - Raw Sugar
7/20 Peterborough, ON - The Spill
7/25 Toronto, ON - The Piston
7/28 St. Catharines, ON - The Merchant Ale House