Cults Set Release Date for Debut Full-Length

Cults Set Release Date for Debut Full-Length
Having won over indiedom with the infectious single "Go Outside," New York pair Cults are gearing up to release their full-length debut. We already knew that the band would be releasing their album through Columbia and Lily Allen's imprint In the Name Of. Now, we have some of the official details for the release.

The album will be self-titled, and it's slated to come out in the UK on May 30. It will likely drop in North America the next day on May 31, but that's yet to be confirmed. Expect it to be a departure from the duo's lo-fi early releases, since it was laid down in a studio with engineer Shane Stoneback, who has previously worked with everyone from Vampire Weekend, Fucked Up and M.I.A., to 'N Sync, Britney Spears and the Backstreet Boys.

UPDATE: The album is now due out in North America on June 7 and you can see the tracklist below.

As for the music itself, a press release offers this description: "Expanding on the off-kilter loveliness of tracks like 'Most Wanted' and 'Go Outside,' the album compresses key points in the history of pop -- everyone from My Bloody Valentine to Phil Spector to Jay Z and Lesley Gore -- and takes it down some very unexpected (and sometimes, unexpectedly dark) places indeed."

Before the album drops, Cults will hit the road in North America for a tour that includes a pair of Canadian dates. See the schedule here.


1. "Abducted"
2. "Go Outside"
3. "You Know What I Mean"
4. "Most Wanted"
5. "Walk at Night"
6. "Never Heal Myself"
7. "Oh My God"
8. "Never Saw the Point"
9. "Bad Things"
10. "Bumper"
11. "Rave On"