Cult of Youth Announce 'Final Days' LP, Premiere "Empty Faction"

Cult of Youth Announce 'Final Days' LP, Premiere 'Empty Faction'
After previously noting that Love Will Prevail on their last LP, neo-folk Brooklynites Cult of Youth are seemingly going to paint a bleaker picture on their next LP, Final Days. The group's third full-length arrives November 11 through Sacred Bones.

  A press release for the set notes that the Sean Ragon-led project further explores the realms of post-punk and "psychedelic neo-folk," with the act themselves describing the album as a "post-industrial Pet Sounds." This is all crafted with a blend of acoustic strums, a "tribal rhythm section" and, apparently, the sound of "real human bones." It's also explained that portions of the lyrics were "written in jail."

It's unclear if, as with previous LPs, Final Days was recorded at Ragon's Heaven Street record store in Brooklyn, but he revealed earlier in the summer on Facebook that he has "never been more proud of a creative work in [his] life."

You'll find the darkened flow of first single "Empty Faction" down beneath the album's tracklisting.

While Cult of Youth had originally started off as a solo project from Ragon, the current lineup includes former the Hunt members Jasper McGandy and Christian Kount on bass and guitar, respectively, as well as cellist Paige Flash and drummer Cory Flannigan.

Final Days:

1. Todestrieb (CD only)

2. Dragon Rouge

3. Empty Faction

4. God's Garden

5. Down the Moon

6. Of Amber

7. No Regression

8. Sanctuary

9. Roses