Craft Spells Returns with 'Nausea,' Shares New Track

Craft Spells Returns with 'Nausea,' Shares New Track
Synthy California pop act Craft Spells — a.k.a. Justin Vallesteros — impressed us with 2011's Idle Labor, but we haven't heard much from him since 2012's Gallery EP. That has now changed with the announcement of Nausea, due out on June 10 through Captured Tracks.

The album was recorded with producer Dylan Wall and features bandmates Javier Suarez and Andy Lum. It apparently reflects a big change since we last heard from Vallesteros; a press release explains that he moved to San Francisco, but after battling writer's block, he headed back to his family's house in Lathrop, CA. There, he trained in piano and wrote all of the album on the instrument.

The results showcase what a press release calls a "bold, beautiful and lush new sound" with organic piano, strings and acoustic guitars. Sonic touchstones include Emitt Rhodes and the solo works of Yellow Magic Orchestra members Haruomi Hosono and Yukihiro Takahashi.

The album cover is above and the tracklist is below. Keep scrolling down to hear "Breaking the Angle Against the Tide," which is driven reverb-y guitar textures, dreamy grooves and baroque flourishes.


1. Nausea
2. Komorebi
3. Changing Faces
4. Instrumental
5. Dwindle
6. Twirl
7. Laughing For My Life
8. First Snow
9. If I Could
10. Breaking the Angle Against the Tide
11. Still Fields (October 10, 1987)