Corb Lund Returns with 'Counterfeit Blues'

Corb Lund Returns with 'Counterfeit Blues'
Corb Lund has apparently got over his Cabin Fever, with news that the roots artist is following up that 2012 LP with his next set, Counterfeit Blues. Despite that title, legitimate copies of the record start circulating in Canada on June 17 through New West Records, with a U.S. release due July 1.

A press release for the set explains that Lund brought a handful of vintage tracks and his Hurtin' Albertans to the iconic Sun Studio in Memphis for a two-day session, with the musicians tracking the "spirited set of rockabilly, rock'n'roll and honky tonk country" live off the floor. Featuring recast cuts from older Lund LP's like Five Dollar Bill and Hair in My Eyes Like a Highland Steer, the band utilized years' worth of practice with the songs to produce a package Lund calls "raw, organic and dirty."

"It turned out really well. Partly because we know the songs inside out and have played them live a thousand times and partly because recording at Sun is a very old fashioned, low-tech process that ends up sounding really great if you can pull it off," he explained in a statement. "My band has been playing behind me for ten years or more, with all the same members so it was a great way to capture the live chemistry we've developed over many, many tours. You can't fake that."

Counterfeit Blues arrives as a double-disc package, with the 12 studio cuts placed onto a CD and the recent CMT documentary Memphis Sun, which chronicles the band's travels to Sun Studios, appearing on a DVD. The second disc also includes three cuts not seen in the original broadcast: "Bucking Horse Rider," "Good Copenhagen," and "Shine Up My Boots."

You'll find the details down below, as well as a trailer for Memphis Sun.

Counterfeit Blues:

1. Counterfeiters' Blues
2. Good Copenhagen
3. Big Butch Bass Bull Fiddle
4. Hair In My Eyes Like A Highland Steer
5. Little Foothills Heaven
6. Five Dollar Bill
7. Buckin' Horse Rider
8. Hurtin' Albertan
9. (Gonna) Shine Up My Boots
10. Truck Got Stuck
11. Roughest Neck Around
12. Truth Comes Out

Memphis Sun DVD:

1. Hurtin' Albertan
2. No Roads Here
3. Little Foothills Heaven
4. Counterfeiters' Blues
5. Roughest Neck Around
6. Big Butch Bass Bull Fiddle
7. Hair In My Eyes Like A Highland Steer
8. Truck Got Stuck
9. Truth Comes Out
10. Five Dollar Bill
11. Buckin' Horse Rider (bonus)
12. Good Copenhagen (bonus)
13. (Gonna) Shine Up My Boots (bonus)